Hospitality Safety Leadership Certificate (HSLC)

Exclusive to the hospitality industry, the Hospitality Safety Leadership Certificate is designed to lead employers through the process of developing and implementing a health and safety management system, and empower them to create a system and a corporate safety culture that will improve the way they do business.

Requirements for each level build on the foundations of the previous levels, as employer’s progress through the development of their program, achieving increased recognition and improved health and safety processes.

Level 1

Start the development of an effective OHS system by taking a baseline measure of the property’s health and safety culture and by establishing management’s commitment to the process.

  1. The property completes a SHSA Perception Survey with participation of a minimum of 50% of employees.  (Contact the SHSA to set up your free survey.)

  2. Most Senior Manager (GM) completes *Health & Safety Leadership for Managers training (1/2 day).


*Level 2

Build the foundation of an OHS system by identifying staff training needs and conducting the property’s hazard assessments.

  1. Key employee(s) complete Staff Orientation and Training session (1/2 day).

  2. Key employee(s) complete Hazard Identification & Control training (3/4 day).

  3. The property submits their completed hazard assessment to the SHSA for review and approval.

  4. The property has completed a successful SHSA Perception Survey within the past 3 years.


*Level 3

Complete the training needed to maintain a health and safety management system for the property as well as to develop the systems required to control the work place hazards identified.

  1. Key employee(s) complete Occupational Health & Safety Management System Program Review Training (1/2 day).

  2. Key employee(s) complete Inspections & Investigations training (1/2 day).

  3. Key employee(s) complete Emergency Response Planning training  (1/2day).

  4. The property has completed a successful SHSA Perception Survey within the past 3 years.

  5. The property submits completed policy documents to the SHSA.


*Level 4

Take the final step and conduct a Certificate of Recognition audit.

  1. The property successfully certifies for/maintains a Certificate of Recognition (COR)

*The current most senior manager must have completed the Health & Safety Leadership for Managers training at all levels of certification.  The intent of this seminar is to expose senior management to training that will explain the importance of health and safety to their business.  It is designed to ensure senior managers understand their responsibilities for the safety of their workers, the repercussions of not meeting these responsibilities, and the basic systems they must implement.

To download the pdf brochure, click HERE.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,