Hospitality Safety Leadership Certificate Program

The HSLC, or Hospitality Safety Leadership Certificate, is the highest standard for safety certification in Saskatchewan! 

Participating in a program to achieve certification can help reduce injuries, reduce premiums and save lives. Contact us to start building your program today!

Exclusive to the hospitality industry, the Hospitality Safety Leadership Certificate is designed to lead you (the employer) through the process of developing and implementing a health and safety management system, and to empower you to create a system and a corporate safety culture that will improve the way you do business!

Even if you aren’t in the hospitality industry this program is available as a Health & Safety Leadership Certificate as well!

Requirements for each level build on the foundations of the previous levels, as you progress through the development of the program, you will achieve increased recognition and improved health and safety processes.

The HSLC consists of 4 different levels:

Level 1 

Start the development of an effective OHS system by establishing management’s commitment to the process and taking a baseline measure of the organization’s health and safety culture.

Level 1 Application Form

Level 2 


Build the foundation of an OHS system by conducting the organization’s hazard assessments and identifying staff training needs.

Level 2 Application Form

Level 3 


Take the training needed to develop the systems required to control for the workplace hazards identified and maintain a health and safety management system for the organization.

  • Key employee(s) complete Emergency Response Planning training (3.5 hours).

  • Key employee(s) complete Workplace Inspections training (3.5 hours).

  • Key employee(s) complete Incident Reporting & Investigation training (8 hours).

  • Current General Manager (Senior Manager) completes Health & Safety Leadership* training (7 hours).

  • The organization has completed an SHSA Safety Evaluation or Perception Survey within the past 3 years.

  • The organization’s formal hazard assessments have been completed within the last year or reviewed within the last year.

  • The organization completed the required policies and procedures:

    • Workplace Inspections Policy

    • Organization-specific Inspection form(s) and report template(s)

    • Emergency Response Policy

    • Emergency Response Procedures

    • Incident Reporting and Investigation Policy(s)

    • Incident Reporting/ Incident Investigation Procedures

    • Incident Report form

    • Incident Investigation form

    • Harassment Policy

    • Harassment Procedures

    • Violence Policy

    • Violence Procedures

Level 3 Application Form

Level 4


Take the final step and conduct a Health & Safety Audit. 

Level 4 Application Form

*The current most senior manager must have completed the Health & Safety Leadership training at all levels of certification.  The intent of this seminar is to expose senior management to training that will explain the importance of health and safety to their business.  It is designed to ensure senior managers understand their responsibilities for the safety of their workers, the repercussions of not meeting these responsibilities, and the basic systems they must implement.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,